Trophy History

Crystal Palace have a storied trophy history having won their first title during the club’s first season as a professional outfit. League and domestic cups also boost the list of how many titles they have won.

The Selhurst Park natives burst out of the gates in 1905/06 when the Crystal Palace Company formed Crystal Palace Football Club. Yet the Eagles have struggled to build on their early success. Few major honours have reached south London throughout the course of Crystal Palace’s history as a club yet.

A majority of the Eagles’ triumphs to date have come in regional and wartime competitions. So, if you ever need reminding, here is Crystal Palace’s trophy history and a list of every title they have won yet…

Crystal Palace have won four league titles

8 May 1994: The Crystal Palace team with their trophy celebrate after they become First Division Champions after the match against Watford at Crystal Palace in London. Watford won the match 2-0. \ Mandatory Credit: Clive Brunskill/Allsport

Crystal Palace have only ever won a league trophy in a handful of their seasons as a professional club so far. The Eagles’ list of honours also features titles from multiple divisions, having topped a table in the second and third tiers. No manager has yet overseen a top-flight honour at Selhurst Park to date.

Steve Coppell oversaw Crystal Palace’s highest top-flight finish in 1990/91 when the Eagles ended the Division One campaign in third. They finished the term with 69 points through 38 games after sealing 29 wins. Arsenal won the title that season with their 83 points ahead of Liverpool in second with 76.

John Robson, meanwhile, oversaw the first league trophy in Crystal Palace’s history having lifted the title in 1905/06. He guided the Eagles to the top of Division Two of the Southern League in their first term as a professional club. It was effectively the fourth tier of league football in England at the time.

List of Crystal Palace’s league titles:

1905/06 Southern Football League, Division Two

1920/21 English Football League, Division Three (third-tier)

1978/79 English Football League, Division Two (second-tier)

1993/94 English Football League, Division One (second-tier)

The highs and lows that litter Crystal Palace’s history have also produced various promotions without lifting a league trophy. Multiple managers have guided the Eagles up the football pyramid in England over the years. While some coaches have done so by overseeing a successful stretch in the play-offs.

List of Crystal Palace’s other promotions:

1960/61 English Football League, Division Four (fourth-tier, runners-up)

1963/64 English Football League, Division Three (third-tier, runners-up)

1968/69 English Football League, Division Two (second-tier, runners-up)

1976/77 English Football League, Division Three (third-tier, third-place)

1988/89 English Football League, Division Two (second-tier, play-off winners)

1996/97 English Football League, Division One (second-tier, play-off winners)

2003/04 English Football League, Division One (second-tier, play-off winners)

2012/13 English Football League, Championship (second-tier, play-off winners)

Crystal Palace are yet to win the FA Cup

Photo by Michael Regan – The FA/The FA via Getty Images

Crystal Palace have appeared in the FA Cup in every complete season the club has competed in since being founded as a professional outfit in 1905. But the Eagles are so far yet to win the world’s oldest national football competition. Their best finish in the tournament so far has been as the runners-up.

Crystal Palace’s best finishes in the FA Cup:

1989/90 (lost 1-0 to Manchester United in a replay of the final)

2015/16 (lost 2-1 AET to Manchester United in the final)

Crystal Palace are yet to win the EFL Cup

Crystal Palace have competed in the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) in every season since the tournament began in 1960/61. But the Eagles are so far yet to win the trophy and are yet to make a single final. Their best finish in the competition so far has been appearances in the semi-final stages.

Crystal Palace’s best finishes in the EFL Cup:

1992/93 (lost 5-1 on aggregate to Arsenal in the semi-finals)

1994/95 (lost 2-0 on aggregate to Liverpool in the semi-finals)

2000/01 (lost 6-2 on aggregate to Liverpool in the semi-finals)

2011/12 (lost 3-1 on penalties to Cardiff City in the semi-finals)

Crystal Palace won the Full Members Cup once

7 Apr 1991: The Crystal Palace team celebrate after their victory in the Zenith Data Cup final against Everton at Wembley Stadium in London. Crystal Palace won the match 4-1. \ Mandatory Credit: Allsport UK /Allsport

Crystal Palace added one Full Members Cup honour to their trophy cabinet during the tournaments’ existence from 1985 to 1992. It was an additional domestic competition following the ban on English sides playing in European tournaments. Only clubs with full Football League membership could play.

List of Crystal Palace’s Full Members Cup trophies:

1990/91 (beat Everton 4-1 AET in the final)

Crystal Palace have won multiple regional trophies

While few major titles feature on the list of how many trophies Crystal Palace have won, the Eagles’ history books feature multiple regional honours. The south Londoners have tasted success in several localised tournaments over the years. They also went close to winning numerous further local titles.

List of Crystal Palace’s regional trophies:

1906/07 United League

1911/12 Kent Senior Shield

1912/13 London Challenge Cup

1913/14 London Challenge Cup

1920/21 London Challenge Cup

1996/97 Surrey Senior Cup (beat Carshalton Athletic 1-0 in the final)

2000/01 Surrey Senior Cup (beat Tooting & Mitcham United 3-0 in the final)

2001/02 Surrey Senior Cup (beat Woking FC 3-0 in the final)

Crystal Palace won two wartime trophies

The outbreak of World War II brought a temporary halt to league football and the FA Cup in England. But short-term replacement divisions were formed with northern and southern sections to limit the movement of teams during WWII. Yet only the 1945/46 campaign would feature a complete season.

List of Crystal Palace’s wartime trophies:

1939/40 Football League South ‘D’ Division

1940/41 Football League South